soccer Committee & machinefabriek

1. High pitched drone
2. Very well drawn
3. Mees
4. For i have none
5. Magpie
6. Thole I
7. Klauwier
8. Di-o-day
9. Cristopher (for Suzanne)
10. High pitched drone II

cd on Digitalis, 2008
lp on Morc Records

recorded july and august 2008

This cd is an album filled with weird, distorted folk songs and sketches. Mariska Baars played and sung beautiful songs, while i added some digital trickery and wooziness to them. The carton-sleeve cd with monoton grey print also houses a small but beautiful photo by Inger Alfnes.

This cd costs 13 euro including worldwide postage

Press text:
This is not your grandfather's Machinefabriek album. Not even close. Rutger Zuydervelt has joined forces with soccer Committee's Mariska Baars on a multitude of previous albums and EPs, but nothing has come close to the sheer force of "Drawn." Baars' bare-bones songs of lament and longing are taken apart and reassembled by Zuydervelt's capable hands. The result is stunning. "Drawn" skirts the line between fractured folk music and drone, never settling into one facade.
Through Zuydervelt's production work, "Drawn" sounds like a dusty, unearthed gem found tucked away in the darkest reaches of an abandoned basement. This is music that is timeless. Gentle acoustic guitar plucks and soothing harmonium tones work magically to highlight the brightest star on the album: Baars' fragile, beautiful voice. She is in magnificent form, pulling emotions from the depths. Not to be overlooked are the flickering samples of Franz Hautzinger's mournful trumpet.
This is music for the ages. Baars & Zuydervelt have made a magnificent album that will leave its mark and haunt you long after it ends. It really doesn't get much better.


It seems to be a bit more quiet on the Machinefabriek front, but once you think so, three releases appear. The first one I thought was disappointing when it turned out to be so short (twenty-four minutes), but then I learned it is also released on LP (by Morc Records from Belgium), which then makes more sense I guess. 'Drawn' is a collaboration between Rutger Zuydervelt and Mariska Baars, who is better known as Soccer Committee. I saw Mariska playing once (although she's going to be around this week here locally!) and it blew me away. Imagine Oren Ambarchi, the same sparseness but then with, likewise sparse vocals. This is what the two do here too: Mariska's songs are the fundament of the music. Slow, very slow guitar notes, a few words, lots of silence. Zuydervelt adds his own fine blend of delicate sound processing to the dinner table, adding some sparse extra sounds on 'instruments' and computer, all in his trademark style of cracks, pops and subtle drones. Very quiet music, but quite intense at the same time. Lullabies for the new dark ages - had that not be already used by someone else.

An entirely logical meeting of creative forces, this album unites Machinefabriek's Rutger Zuydervelt with Mariska Baars of soccer Committee for a gorgeous blend of high-end abstract electronics and forward-thinking songwriting. Zuydervelt's impact on song structure is at once dramatic yet intuitive, taking Baars' guitar and voice to ethereal plains that actually suit her delivery perfectly. Something like 'Very Well Drawn' is how you might want one of Susanna Wallumrod's collaborations with Deathprod to turn out - bristling with warm electronic tones, microsound crackle and evaporated vocals. Similarly, the incredibly immersive drone textures of 'Magpie' integrate wonderfully well with Baars' hushed utterances and even more aggressively esoteric works, such as 'Thole I' yield commendable results, laying on noisy distortion figures and high frequency screeches, all the while Baars' voice being layered and harmonised in an abrasive, but ultimately rather beautiful choral fashion. One of the most outstandingly lovely moments comes on 'Di-O-Day', a sparse and folksy number that makes good use of Franz Hautzinger's morose trumpet lines. Like so much of this album there's a very natural dialogue between musicians and machines without ever stating the obvious or taking the road most travelled, and for that Drawn is to be commended. Excellent.

Mariska Baars uit Leiden is Soccer Committee. Soccer Committee is het mooie kleine meisje van de Nederlandse folk muziek. Zo eentje die iedereen vertedert. Eenvoudig maar gevoelig streelt zij zachtjes te snaren van haar gitaar en begeleidt deze met haar tedere maar ook melancholische stem. Je zou verwachten dat deze muziek ontstaat op een afgelegen commune in Georgia, maar nee, gewoon in het dichtbevolkte Nederland. De samenwerking op de 3" plaatjes Zeeg, Clay en Thole zijn blijkbaar goed bevallen. Drawn heeft echter een andere aanpak. De voorgaande uitgaven bevatten namelijk één kleine collage van geluiden geproduceerd door het duo; nu hebben we te maken met een tiental nummers circa 25 minuten. Echte liedjes! Een leek zal er anders over denken. Natuurlijk vergt appreciatie voor de toonkunsten van Machinefabriek enige oefening. Maar als ik er één release moet uitpikken die ook de toegankelijkheid tentoonspreid, dan is Drawn het wel.
Ik ben erg benieuwd naar hoe de opnames van dit album zijn verlopen. Het lijkt er sterk op dat Mariska de nummers eerst heeft ingezongen dan wel gespeeld waarna Rutger de geluiden heeft bewerkt. De opener High Pitched Drone I krijgt al snel een bevreemdend elektronisch sausje en zet de toon voor de rest. Subtiele glitches, bliepjes, haperingen, echo's, drones en vervormingen tillen het fragiele geraamte van een folksong naar een hoger, futuristisch plan zonder kil te klinken. Het klinkt juist heel organisch en melodieus. De stem van Mariska draagt natuur en rust en is nergens overheersend. Het is alsof de tijd even stilstaat. De liedjes doen dan ook voorkomen dat ze veel langer duren dan gemiddeld twee minuten. Het prachtige, hemelse Thole I lijkt niet op de eerder uitgebrachte samenwerking Thole, maar sluit daar wel mooi op aan. Het hoogtepunt volgt kort erop met Di-o-day, een echt folk nummer waar juist Mariska een stempel op het nummer weet te drukken. Een sample van een trompet gespeeld door Franz Hautzinger maakt de melancholie compleet.